Tuesday, April 21, 2020

sayan sanya: la rak chak suan taeng

artist: สายัณห์ สัญญา (sayan sanya)
album: ลารักจากสวนแตง (la rak chak suan taeng)
01. ลารักจากสวนแตง (la rak chak suan taeng)
02. สาวครวญจากสวนแตง (sao khruan chak suan taeng)
sung by น้ำอ้อย พรวิเชียร (nam-oi phonwichian)
03. สัญญาห้าปี (sanya ha pi)
04. ห้าปีที่เธอลืม (ha pi thi thoe luem)
sung by น้ำอ้อย พรวิเชียร (nam-oi phonwichian)
05. อยากไปให้พ้น (yak pai hai phon)
06. เพราะฉันโง่ซิ (phro chan ngo si)
07. สาวยโสธร (sao yasothon)
08. สายัณห์คอยคู่ (sayan khoi khu)
09. ภูธรที่รัก (phuthon thi rak)
10. รักเธอเท่าฟ้า (rak thoe thao fa)
11. ลูกสาวผู้การ (luk sao phu kan)
12. แหม่มปลาร้า (ma'am pla ra)
13. คุณนายชั่วโมง (khun nai chua mong)
14. พลัดคู้ (phlat khu)
15. บอกแล้วน้องรวง (bok laeo nong ruang)
16. คนใต้ไม่หวาน (khon tai mai wan)
17. ฉันรักลูกกรุง (chan rak luk krung)
18. รักทรมาน (rak thoraman)
19. รักตกกระป๋อง (rak tok krapong)

this week, classic luk thung balladry from "phi pao", sayan sanya! born and raised in central thailand's suphan buri province, sayan grew up farming rice with his family. he started his musical career as a dancer in phongsi woranut's group, gradually moving up to back-up singer, and eventually forming his own band in 1973. through the '80s and early '90s he paired up with phumphuang duangchan and reigned as the biggest of luk thung stars. this cassette collects a number of his early hits from the mid-70s; largely consisting of slow, syrupy ballads with flute and string arrangements carrying, and a few latin-tinged dance numbers (and even a talung or two) to round out the set. nam-oi phonwichian also joins for a few answer-songs.. enjoy!

Wednesday, April 8, 2020

zu zu: su khwam wang mai

artist: ซูซู (zu zu)
album: สู่ความหวังใหม่ (su khwam wang mai)
01. อับดุลเลาะห์ (abdullah)
02. ใครสักคน (khrai sak khon)
03. ม้งลงแดง (hmong long daeng)
04. อ้อล้อ (o lo)
05. แม่นบ่ (maen bo)
06. บ่อสร้างกางจ้อง (bo sang kang chong)
07. นกเขา (nok khao)
08. ยับเยิน (yap yoen)
09. ไส้เดือน (sai duean)
10. สุวรรณภูมิ (suwannaphum)
11. โฆษณา โค้ก (coke advertisement)

this week, a look back at the late '80s/early '90s songs for life scene, with zu zu! the band consists of zu raphin phutthichat (guitar/vocals), sek saksit (guitar/keyboard/vocals), and ut yannawa (drums/vocals), all formerly of the group kathon, along with suthep pan-amphan (bass) and phantiwa phumiprathet a.k.a. tom dundee (vocals). this cassette is their debut album, produced by aed carabao for his d-day entertainment label. while initially united in their socially conscious messaging, the group's members drifted apart politically over time, with the core group appearing on anti-thaksin yellow shirt protest stages, while tom dundee appeared with the anti-coup red shirts, and eventually served time in prison on a lèse-majesté charge (he was finally released in july of last year). regardless of politics, though, i think anyone could get behind their hard rock sam-cha sound.. enjoy!