Friday, June 17, 2011

chai mueangsing: sing thao khao wongkan

artist: ชาย เมืองสิงห์ (chai mueangsing)
album: สิงห์เฒ่าเข้าวงการ (sing thao khao wongkan)
01. สิงห์เฒ่าเข้าวงการ (sing thao khao wongkan)
02. ป. 4 ได้ขี่เครื่อง (p. 4 dai khi khrueang)
03. นั่งเครื่องไปซาอุ (nang khrueang pai sa u)
04. ลาแฟนไปแดนทราย (la faen pai daen sai)
05. เต็งซื้อรถโต๊ดซื้อดร๊าฟท์ (teng sue rot, tot sue draft)
06. พี่กลับจากนอก (phi klap chak nok)
07. รวยไม่ทนจนนาน (ruai mai thon chon nan)
08. หัวดีไม่มีเงิน (hua di mai mi ngoen)
09. เหล้าเปลี่ยนคน (lao plian khon)
10. รักจมที่พรหมพิราม (rak chom thi phrom phiram)

this week, a very special late-period album from the "man city lion"; luk thung veteran chai mueangsing! as the cover states, chai dedicates this particular cassette to "the hard-working thai people in saudi arabia", and as such, the lyrics are mostly devoted to external migration and the resulting pains of separation. as discussed here earlier, saudi arabia was a major destination for thai migrants in the 80's, until the blue diamond affair soured relations between the two countries. in addition to the lyrical content, the music features a few middle eastern flourishes... and of course there's the cover, with chai's face pasted onto king faid's bust. enjoy!

Saturday, June 4, 2011

wiwa pha fan (o.s.t.)

this week's post comes courtesy of bangkok's dj maft sai, the world's foremost representative of vintage thai funk! together with chris menist, he hosts the bi-annual "paradise bangkok" & bi-monthly "isan dancehall" events in thailand & japan. the duo also helped put together the fantastic compilations the sound of siam (on soundway) and thai? dai! (on finder's keepers). stop by the zudrangma records store in bangkok, or visit the webstore from anywhere!

artist: various
album: วิวาห์พาฝัน (wiwa pha fan)
01. วิวาห์พาฝัน (wiwa pha fan)
sung by สวลี ผกาพันธุ์ (sawali phakaphan)
02. เลิกสุรา (loek sura)
sung by สมบัติ เมทะนี + รุจน์ รณภพ (sombat methani & rut ronphop)
03. ชีวิตใหม่ (chiwit mai)
sung by สมบัติ เมทะนี + อรัญญา นามวงศ์ (sombat methani & aranya namwong)
04. ปักษีสู่รัง (paksi su rang)
sung by อรัญญา นามวงศ์ (aranya namwong)
05. อยากจะดู (yak cha du)
sung by สุดา ชื่นบาน + อดุลย์ กรีน (suda chuenban & adun green)
06. ทหารผ่านศึก (thahan phan suek)
sung by สังข์ทอง สีใส (sangthong sisai)
07. ไทยเขียว (thai khieow)
sung by นพดล ดวงพร (nophadon duangphon)
08. แม้เพียงหนึ่งนาที (mae phiang nueng nathi)
sung by สมบัติ เมทะนี + อรัญญา นามวงศ์ (sombat methani & aranya namwong)
09. ไม่ต้องมาพูดกัน (mai tong ma phut kan)
sung by สมบัติ เมทะนี, อรัญญา นามวงศ์ + รุจน์ รณภพ (sombat methani, aranya namwong & rut ronphop)
10. ฉันไม่ง้อ (chan mai ngo)
sung by สมบัติ เมทะนี + รุจน์ รณภพ (sombat methani & rut ronphop)
11. ง้องอน (ngo ngon)
sung by สมบัติ เมทะนี (sombat methani)
12. ต้องคิด (tong khit)
sung by สมบัติ เมทะนี + รุจน์ รณภพ (sombat methani & rut ronphop)
13. โจร (chon)
sung by พร ภิรมย์ (phon phirom)
14. สื่อรักจากสวรรค์ (sue rak chak sawan)
sung by สมบัติ เมทะนี + อรัญญา นามวงศ์ (sombat methani & aranya namwong)

our album today is the soundtrack to the film "wiwa pha fan", a 1971 star vehicle for sombat methani & aranya namwong. i'm not sure whether the film can be seen these days (i've never spotted any vcd's floating around), but i think the soundtrack was the most memorable aspect, anyhow. the song selection is quite eclectic, featuring an oddball liké-style comic number from the inimitable sangthong sisai, a heavy cha cha cha from suda chuenban & adun green, a great isan luk thung romp from nophadon duangphon and a rare rock'n'roll offering from the (typically) traditionally-minded phon phirom, alongside a bunch of slightly less interesting numbers from the film's stars. enjoy!!