Sunday, January 23, 2022

sisuda roengchai: chan cha yu phuea thoe ik wan

artist: ศรีสุดา เริงใจ (sisuda roengchai)
album: ฉันจะอยู่เพื่อเธออีกวัน (chan cha yu phuea thoe ik wan)
01. ฉันจะอยู่เพื่อเธออีกวัน (chan cha yu phuea thoe ik wan)
02. หนาว (nao)
03. จูบลวง (chup luang)
04. ห่วง (huang)
05. คิดไม่ผิด (khit mai phit)
06. วอนสวรรค์ (won sawan)
07. ฝนเศร้า (fon sao)
08. คอยเธอคืน (khoi thoe khuen)
09. กุหลาบงาม (kulap ngam)
10. จะจริงหรือไร (cha ching rue mai)
11. รักร้าง (rak rang)
12. คืนนี้พี่เหงา (khuen ni phi ngao)

2 sung by นิทัศน์ ละอองศรี (nithat la-ongsi)
4 sung by สุวัจชัย สุทธิมา  (suwatchai sutthima)
6 sung by เศวตชัย วิฑูรเทพ (sawetchai withunthep)
8 sung by มนตรี สีหเทพ (montri sihathep)
10 sung by สามารถ บริบูรณ์เวช (samat boribunwet)
12 sung by ศักดา อิทธิชัย (sakda itthichai)

many thanks to our generous pal dave novak for this week's record

a bit of an excursion today; trading our typically magnetically-fixed sound for the phonographic [feedback on my inexpert vinyl transfer welcome]! our featured star is sisuda roengchai, a luk krung singer in the suntharaphon orbit, and a nightclub fixture both in bangkok and parts more southerly around the mid-'70s. her biggest hit was the title song to the 1975 film "mae sai", although she left her singing career behind just a decade later, becoming a restaurateur instead[1]. the music on this record (all the work of mononymous songwriter phonphirun) is a mix of slow ballads and waltzes, latin-flavored ballroom boleros, and interestingly, one indonesian kroncong-style number [track 9]. sisuda sings half the tracks (the even numbered ones), while the others are carried by a roster of male vocalists, including her closest collaborator, nithat la-ongsi. enjoy!