Friday, April 5, 2013

saengthong anothai: hak kho ai theng

artist: แสงทอง อโณทัย (saengthong anothai)
album: หักคอไอ้เท่ง (hak kho ai theng)
01. หักคอไอ้เท่ง (hak kho ai theng)
02. ไปหาหมอ (pai ha mo)
03. มีเมียเพราะประมาท (mi mia phro pramat)
04. บอกคนชื่อเล็ก (bok khon chue lek)
05. วอนน้องกลับมา (won nong klap ma)
06. อยาก (yak)
07. ศิษย์ท่านจุน (sit than chun)
08. หนุ่มไฟฟ้าแม่ค้าข้าวแกง (num fai fa mae ka khao keng)
09. บึบบับ (buep bap)
10. เส้นทางที่สัญญา (sen thang thi sanya)
11. หนทางตัน (hon thang tan)

i'm heading south for the weekend, so i figured i'd leave you with some great old music from down there!  i can't tell you a thing about our singer, although the songwriter is one whose name has shown up on a handful of cassettes in my collection; nakhon si thammarat's own phetthai thanomchit.  to my ears, there's not anything markedly "southern" about the music here, aside from the percussive & funky arrangements that characterized the region's luk thung at that time.  you'll also hear some examples of the "talking music" style pioneered by phloen phromdaen.. check out the sample song for an unreliable english lesson.  enjoy!

MRPT172 by monrakplengthai