Thursday, January 5, 2017

withep kanthima & the champagne band

artist: วิเทพ กันธิมา + วง แชมเปญ (withep kanthima & the champagne band)
album: ดนตรีลานนาผสมสากล ชุด บรรเลงคำร้อง (dontri lanna phasom sakon chut banleng kham rong)
01. เพลงดาดน่าน (phleng dat nan)
02. ซีจานตุง (si jantung)
03. เขมรกล่อมลูก (khmer klom luk)
04. จันทร์โลม (chan lom)
05. เพลงกันตรึม (phleng kantruem)
06. เพลงเร็ว (phleng reo)
07. ลำหลวงพระบาง (lam luang phrabang)
08. คางคกปากบ่อ (khang khok pak bo)
09. มอญดูดาว (mon du dao)
10. ลำเพลินอีสาน (lam phloen isan)
11. เสเลเมา (se le mao)
12. changing of the guards

this week's post marks the seventh in a series of cassettes gifted to us by educator cliff sloane. a former professor of ethnomusicology and founder of, a major influence behind this blog.

our seventh tape from cliff again features the talents of lanna artist withep kanthima. born in 1954, withep trained from a young age with his father in the local music of northeast thailand, studying a range of folk instruments and performance styles. aside from this paternal instruction, withep was also a student of chao sunthon na chiang mai, our previously featured performer from cliff's collection. like his teacher, withep made his name hand-crafting local instruments and instructing young musicians at the chiang mai college of dramatic arts, marking that institution's first hire of a folk musician, according to cliff. he passed away in 2006 at the age of 54[1]. this fourth cassette from withep finds him taking up the pi nae, a northern reed oboe, running through melodies drawn from lanna, thailand, laos, cambodia, indonesia and america (specifically, bob dylan). accompanying withep is a modern rock combo, "the champagne band", with electric bass, drumset and keyboards, as well as an assortment of local instruments. enjoy!



Anonymous said...


Is it possible to upload again the instrumental cassettes. The links do not work anymore.

Thank you very much

Best wishes and thank you for letting us discover all this music.

Anonymous said...

Pleease upload again, love this music

peter said...

new link in post!