Monday, January 2, 2012

phuean: sawatdi pi mai

artist: เพื่อน (phuean)
album: สวัสดีปีใหม่ (sawatdi pi mai)
01. สวัสดีปีใหม่ (sawatdi pi mai)
02. หยุดใจไว้กับเธอ (yut chai wai kap thoe)
03. รักเนี้ยบๆ (rak niap niap)
04. ป่านฉะนี้ (pan chani)
05. แก้วตา (kaew ta)
06. ใจคนคอย (chai khon khoi)
07. ดูดูดูดูแสนเศร้า (du du du du saen sao)
08. รักบึงเก่า (rak bueng kao)
09. ปุ๊น... ปั๊น (pun... pan)
10. งานวัด (ngan wat)
11. ป้ากะปู่ (pa ka pu)
12. ว้าเหว่ (wa we)
13. พรุ่งนี้ (phrung ni)
14. เพียงเอ่ยคำลา (phiang oei kham la)
15. สักกะติ๊ด (sak ka tit)
16. ผิดนัด (phit nat)
17. ตี๋ดอยตุง (ti doi tung)
18. อะโห... ชีวิต (aho... chiwit)

what better way to ring in the new year than with warm wishes from thailand's most dapper dogs & cats?  courtesy of alexandra, we have the album "happy new year!" from a band identified only as "friends" (although individual songwriters are credited within the gatefold)  i don't have a great deal to say about this tape that the cover art doesn't say on its own.  the music?  well, the opportunity to hear a thai take on the characteristically technophilic production values of 1986 might interest some people, but it also might not.. either way, happy 2012!


Holly said...

So, which song is the preview? I have evil, very evil plans for that song... ;-)

Happy New Year!

peter said...

track no. 1!
happy new year to you too, holly!
please keep me posted as plans develop...

musique said...

Happy new year!

Brian Shimkovitz said...

I love this one!